Passing of Wallace McMillan

From: Michael Hayden, Chair, Department of Physics

It is with great sadness that I must inform you of the death of Wallace McMillan, associate professor of physics and director of the graduate program in atmospheric physics. For the past 16 years, Wallace was a valued member of the Department of Physics and the College of Natural and Mathematical Sciences. He was especially influential in the development of the Ph.D. program in atmospheric physics and served as the graduate program director for that program from 2003-2010. He was the Department liaison to the campus chapter of Phi Beta Kappa.

Wallace’s research in atmospheric physics involved measurements of the products of fire, particularly carbon monoxide, as tracers of atmospheric pollution.

Wallace is remembered by his colleagues and friends for his collegial spirit, sense of humor and commitment to the success of our students through his outstanding service as a teacher and mentor. He will be greatly missed.

Wallace McMillan’s memorial service will be held Saturday, April 17, 1-3 p.m., at Meadowridge Memorial Park in Elkridge, Maryland. His obituary will be published in the Baltimore Sun and the Washington Post the two consecutive Sundays prior to the service.

5 responses to “Passing of Wallace McMillan

  1. My condolences to his family and to his work family. I will always remember Wallace’s good nature, hard work and quick mind.

    He will be missed.

  2. I would personally like to thank the many well-wishers within the UMBC Community and outside. For those of us who worked with Wallace, these comments are very soothing. We are accumulating these condolences and passing them on to Wallace’s wife, Rae Force.

    For those of you who wish to contact Ms Force directly, you can send Mike Hayden or me a note and we can give you her home address. It would be inappropriate to post it here.

  3. All of us who worked with Wallace are shocked at his early passing. We will miss his presence as well as his valuable contributions. Wallace was an exceptional colleague, both personally and scientifically.
    My heartfelt condolences to his family and friends. He was a good soul.

  4. Dr. Wallace McMillan was pretty much the reason why I graduated from UMBC. He was a great professor that related to his students better than any other professor I ever had.

    I had Dr. McMillan for Electronics Lab, and it was the most difficult course that I had ever taken at the time. In fact, the first time I took it, I failed. But the thing that made Dr. McMillan so great was that he didn’t give up on me. Because of Dr. McMillan, I had the wake-up call that I needed to change my study habits and pass the rest of my physics courses.

    I graduated from UMBC in May of 2009, and I now work for Northrop Grumman as a Systems Engineer. I have Dr. Wallace McMillan to thank for that. You will be greatly missed my friend and professor. Rest in peace.

  5. As the outreach lead for AIRS, I called on Wallace many times to help create captions for our carbon monoxide imagery of plumes from fires. There was almost always a tight deadline involved because these images were going out to the media, and usually everything occurred at the end of the day. Wallace always made himself available no matter what the time, and always made me feel he was happy to help.

    A tribute page in honor of Wallace was posted on the AIRS web site. He indeed will be greatly missed and dearly remembered.

    http://airs.jpl.nasa.gov/story_archive/Wallace-McMillan/

Leave a Reply

